2022 OOB Festival – Meet the Judges

[vc_row css_animation=”” row_type=”row” use_row_as_full_screen_section=”no” type=”full_width” angled_section=”no” text_align=”left” background_image_as_pattern=”without_pattern”][vc_column][vc_column_text]



DENNIS A. ALLEN II is a NY native, award winning playwright, theatre artist and past OOB winner. He teaches at multiple institutions and is currently the MFA Playwriting Co-Program Coordinator at his alma mater Brooklyn College.


NAN BARNETT is the Executive Director of National New Play Network, an alliance of theaters that collaborate to develop, produce, and extend the life of new works.


EBONI BOOTH is a writer and actor from New York City. Her plays include Paris (Atlantic Theater) and Primary Trust (upcoming Roundabout).


KEN CERNIGLIA is a veteran dramaturg, writer, creative consultant, and organizational leader. His dramaturgy includes the Broadway hits Hadestown and Peter and the Starcatcher. During 16 years as dramaturg and literary manager at Disney Theatrical, he developed over 70 titles for Broadway, touring, international, and licensed productions, including The Hunchback of Notre DameAladdinNewsiesThe Little MermaidHigh School Musical, and Tarzan. Ken is past president of Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas and co-founder of the American Theatre Archive Project. He holds a Ph.D. in theatre history and criticism from the University of Washington.


KAREN HARTMAN‘s work launched VOLT at 59e59 Theaters, an unprecedented festival of three off-Broadway premieres by a single author simultaneously. Also in 2022, Denver Theater Center presented the world premiere musical Rattlesnake Kate, book by Hartman, score by Neyla Pekarek. A recent Guggenheim Fellow, Hartman lives in Brooklyn with her family.


MARGARET M. LEDFORD  is the Artistic Director of Miami’s City Theatre, a Creator at Mangrove Creative Collective, a national theatre/musical theatre reviewer for Young Arts Foundation, an AEA member, and freelance director.


EMILY MORSE has been honored with an inaugural Lilly Award for Advocacy, and her career encompasses all manner of performing arts. She is the Artistic Director of New Dramatists, where she has been on staff since 2001.


JILL RAFSON is Producing Artistic Director of Classic Stage Company, formerly Associate Artistic Director of Roundabout Theatre Company. Proud dramaturg.


NATASHA SINHA is a producer and dramaturg, focusing on new plays and new musical work. She is Associate Artistic Director of Playwrights Horizons.


BRYNA TURNER is a Brooklyn-based playwright. Their recent plays include At the Wedding, Bull in a China Shop, and Phases of the Moon.


ALEXIS WILLIAMS is the Associate Artistic Director of The Playwrights Realm, she serves on the advisory boards of the Bret and Paul Foundation and SPACE on Ryder Farm, and is a graduate of Northwestern University.


EMMANUEL WILSON is the Executive Director of Creative Affairs and Membership at the Dramatists’ Guild. As Director of Membership, Emmanuel has overseen the expansion of the Guild from 6,500 to over 8,500 members in just three years. A playwright, producer, and lifelong resident of New York City, Emmanuel founded the Blue Rose Stage Company at age 18, serving as its artistic director for six years. At TADA! Youth Theater, Emmanuel served as artistic associate and literary manager, commissioning and supporting new works from writers including Stephen Schwartz, Lisa Diana Shapiro, and Eric Rockwell.